Childish Gambino Talks Andre 3000, Kendrick, 'because the internet' on Power 106 LA: Interview [VIDEO]

  • Michael Briggs , Design & Trend Staff Writer
  • Nov, 29, 2013, 02:48 PM
Childish Gambino.
(Photo : REUTERS/Mario Anzuoni) Childish Gambino covered PM Dawn's "I'd Die Without You" for the BBC Lounge, prompting some to wonder if the multi-talented actor/musician could also pursue an R&B career.

Childish Gambino recently stopped by Power 106 in Los Angeles for a revealing interview on his new album, the tracks he's listening to right now and his muscial influences.

Speaking on Outkast's influence on himself and creativity in hip-hop, Gambino mentioned how he thinks the duo's work translates to new artists, including Kendrick Lamar:

"He's Andre, he's Andre 3000; he's probably one of the best,. But also, he holds a special place. I grew up in Atlanta," Childish continues, "And it's weird, when I went to college, people were like, 'Have you ever heard of OutKast?' and I'm like, 'Yeah, they're four records in.' People didn't know. They were always around, and they never quite fit the Atlanta scene."

Speaking on Outkast's influence on Kendrick Lamar: "A lot of the tracks, I feel, were influenced by that kind of stuff, even unconsciously, because I never tried to go after that sound, but you listen to Kendrick, too, you can see how he's a little influenced by it."

Gambino also spoke on his recent collaborations with Jhené Aiko, one of which will appear on because the internet. Check out the full interview below:

The actor/comedian/musician unleashed another new track, an energetic, thumping banger, last week at Hullabalooza in College Station, Texas.

The song, entitled "The Crawl," seemed to really get the crowd going and for a live version, the sound was really on-point. The song is listed as the second track on CG's upcoming album, because the internet, which is scheduled to be ready for your listening pleasure on December 10.

Check out the live performance of "The Crawl" below.

CG recently unveiled the official 19-song tracklist for because the internet, which includes cameos by Chance The Rapper, Azealia Banks, Jhene Aiko and more. The project looks to feature several tracks that will be grouped together, with various songs including a roman numeral in front of them. As he previously mentioned in an interview with Fuse, CG wants because the internet to be more of an experience than an album, and the project's creative element already looks to be bubbling to the surface with these various sections, if you will, that separate certain parts of the 'experience' from others.

The new cover art falls in line with the album's internet theme, featuring a headshot of the rapper in a Hawaiian shirt. It's a GIF, so it also distorts his face in a way that fades the image's bright color into a dark blob. You can check out the GIF on the rapper's IamDonald website and more on CG's new album below.

Childish Gambino – 'Because the Internet' (Tracklist)

1. The Library (Intro)
2. I. The Crawl
3. II. worldstar
4. Dial Up
5. I. The worst guys (feat. Chance The Rapper)
6. II. shadows
7. III. telegraph (“Oakland” by Lloyd)
8. IV. sweatpants
9. V. 3005
10. Playing Around Before The Party Starts
11. I. The Party
12. II. no exit
13. Death By Numbers
14. I. Flight of The Navigator
15. II. zealots of stockholm (free information)
16. III. umm
17. I. pink toes (feat. Jhene Aiko)
18. II. earth: The oldest computer (The last night) [feat. Azealia Banks]
19. III. life: The biggest troll (andrew auernheimer)

© 2015 Design & Trend All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.


Latest Stories

Back to School Shopping Guide

DESIGN Sep, 02, 2016, 03:17 PM

Back To School Shopping Guide

Getty Images

DESIGN Sep, 02, 2016, 01:58 PM

Harry Styles Purchases New LA Pad